Brand Talk


The Selection Panel of the Lagos Public Relations Industry Gala and Awards (LaPRIGA) has announced the commencement of nominations for the 8th edition of one of the most prestigious of Sub-Saharan Africa’s PR awards.

The Chairman of the Selection Committee, Mr. Chido Nwakama, has provided insights into what we can expect at this year’s LAPRIGA 2023 Award ceremony. He underscored the panel’s dedication to selecting entries that truly redefine the game, aligning with this year’s theme.

In Mr. Nwakama’s words, “Today, we are delighted to announce the commencement of nominations for the LAPRIGA 2023 Award. This 8th edition promises to be both thrilling and unique, as the competition continues to grow in intensity. We must uphold this upward trend.”

He went on to say, “This year, our committee is on the lookout for campaigns that epitomize creativity and authentic game-changing impact. We wholeheartedly encourage certified PR professionals in Lagos to participate in large numbers.”

“As a forward-thinking Chapter deeply concerned about issues affecting our planet’s well-being, I am pleased to announce the addition of the ‘Best in Environment/Sustainability Campaign’ category. We urge PR professionals engaged in environmental and sustainability campaigns to actively take part.”

“In addition, we are introducing the ‘Best in Public Sector Campaign’ category, alongside the existing ‘Outstanding Public Affairs Practitioner’ category. This new addition aims to celebrate innovative PR initiatives at all government levels.”

“Once again, this year, we are taking steps to involve and engage stakeholders more deeply in LaPRIGA. Members of the Lagos Chapter of NIPR will play a central role in the 2023 Awards, from nominations to the selection of winners. Our stricter criteria prioritize inclusion and community involvement. LaPRIGA is gaining greater significance and momentum thanks to the dedication and commitment of stakeholders who actively participate and attend the Gala night. We extend our gratitude to the public relations community.”

Stakeholders can participate in multiple ways:

  • Nominate candidates in various categories.
  • Cast their votes for preferred nominees after the shortlisting by the Awards Panel.
  • Seek sponsorship support from their respective organizations.
  • Grace the awards night with their presence and glamour.

Here is the timeline for the award process:

  • Nominations Open: October 2, 2023
  • Nominations Close: November 1, 2023;
  • Selection Committee Review of Nominations: November 15, 2023
  • Voting by Lagos NIPR members begin: November 18, 2023
  • Voting by Lagos NIPR members conclude: November 25, 2023
  • Review of voting and final selection conclude: November 30, 2023

The winners will be officially announced at the Gala night scheduled for Friday, December 15, 2023.

This year’s awards ceremony continues the tradition of acknowledging the expanding role of public relations across various domains in today’s modern world. Categories include:

  • Public Relations Practitioner of the Year
  • Best in Technology Public Relations
  • Best in Public Relations Education
  • Best in Hospitality PR
  • Best in Political Communication
  • Best in Entertainment PR
  • Best Use of Research & Measurement
  • Corporate Communication Professional of the Year
  • The most influential PR Professional
  • Outstanding Public Affairs Practitioner of the Year
  • The best brand in Storytelling
  • Best Innovation in Public Relations
  • Digital and Social Media Agency of the Year
  • Rising Public Relations Practitioner of the Year
  • Best in Crisis and Risk Communication
  • Excellence in Internal Communication and Employee Engagement
  • Excellence in Community Relations
  • Best in Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Best Supporter of PR
  • Agency of the year
  • Model Agency of All Time
  • Public Relations Journalist of the Year
  • Photo and Video Journalist of the Year
  • Public Sector PR Campaign of the Year
  • Environment and Sustainability PR Award

For a comprehensive understanding of award criteria and eligibility, please visit https://lagosnipr.com/lapriga/.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *